Stuff and things

I started this blog several years ago, wrote one brief post to make sure that I knew how it worked, and then promptly forgot about it.  I found it again this morning when I was cleaning out my collection of old bookmarks.

I could have simply deleted this account, since I already have another blog or two here and there, but I decided to keep it.  After all, what are the odds that I’ll be able to get another account with my personal name on it?  There are, apparently, several other Daniel Ellards in the world.  I get email for at least one of them on a regular basis… hopefully nothing important, because I have no idea where to forward it.

Because I hate to rush into things unprepared, I have made a cursory study of contemporary blogs in an attempt to understand what makes blogs successful.  I believe that the following are generally accurate:

  • Most successful blogs have a central theme, so that people who are interested in that theme know that the blog will usually be of interest to them.
  • Most successful blogs have a fairly regular schedule of new postings, so that people who visit those blogs (or who subscribe via RSS) don’t completely forget about the existence of the blogs in between postings, or what they’re about, or why they bothered to look at them in the interim.
  • Most successful blogs are written by people who care passionately about their chosen subject and take time to craft their message to maximize the impact of their words.
  • Most successful blogs pander to their audience (either explicitly or at an almost subconscious level) and make their readers feel enlightened or at least validated by what they read (“This writer feels that their town government is run by special-interest groups who do not have my best interests at heart!  That’s the same thing I’ve been saying for years!”).

I could probably go on, but I think that those four reasons are more than adequate for explaining the future lack of popularity of this blog.

This blog will not have a consistent theme, although I expect it will have more photos of my yard than anything else.   I’m going to write about stuff and things.

This blog will not be updated on a predictable basis, unless “rarely, if ever” is predictable.

I don’t have a message.  If I influence you, it’s your own damn fault for not having strong opinions of your own.  Next time, come prepared.

I make no promises, except that I will only pander when I’m in the mood to pander.

Check back every few years for updates.

Leave a Reply

